The Lincklaen House History
Welcome to the Lincklaen house, an historical landmark since 1835. For more than 180 years, the Oldest Grand Hotel in Central New York has provided a comfortable atmosphere, and extended gracious hospitality to all its visitors.
In 1790, John Lincklaen, an employee of the Holland Land Company, planned a village on the shores of Owagena lake, and named it Cazenovia. The Lincklaen house was built in 1835, and opened its doors in 1836.
In the early 1800s, all travel in the area was by horse and carriage. The white signpost which stands in front of the hotel today served as a hitching post for the stage coach teams that made regularly scheduled stops. Since its earliest days, visitors from all over the United States and abroad have been welcomed to the Lincklaen House. Former President and Mrs. Grover Cleveland—as well as John D. Rockefeller—were among its guests.
After a disastrous fire in 1916, Henry Burden remodeled the hotel using finely carved woodwork and moldings, still visible today among the high ceilings and painted wood panels. Each of the 23 guest rooms is unique, and retains its 19th century charm. The locally made brick, fine chimneys, and broad front steps are wonderful representations of a storied past.
Operating as a Treadway Inn for nearly a decade, the Lincklaen House was purchased in 1956 by Edward and Helen Tobin. The Tobins added modern amenities and ran the Lincklaen House until 1997, when it was purchased by the current owners, Dan Kuper and Charles Morgan. Their partnership was formed in the interest of revitalizing this stunning landmark hotel for visitors and local residents alike.
We extend a warm invitation for you to be pampered, and enjoy fine dining and lodging in the old world elegance of Lincklaen House.
John Lincklaen, an employee of the Holland Land Company, planned a village on the shores of Owagena lake, and named it Cazenovia in honor of Theophilus de Cazenove, the land company’s general agent, who bought the land.
The Lincklaen house was constructions started spring of 1835, and opened its doors in November 1836. Philo Judson was the first proprietor and operator. The Lincklaen House Block also includes the two stores at 81 and 83 Albany Street, just east of the hotel.
John Williams Buys The Lincklaen House and sells the two stores to shoemaker Benjamin Gilson, and ironware dealer Sherlock Perkins for $1,000.00 apiece. Williams rents the Lincklaen House to various proprietors until he dies in 1853
By 1850, plank roads lead up to the Lincklaen House
After Williams death, Jewell purchased the establishment for about $7,000. Jewell continued as proprietor of the hotel until his death in 1877.
Dell Clark of Syracuse purchases The Lincklaen House for $16,000 and runs the hotel with Jewett. They are succeeded by E. Jewett & Son, G.E.Smith, Mr. Ashby, and Stanton and Finch.
Former President and Mrs. Grover Clevlend are distinguished guests at the Lincklaen House.
An article that appeared in the Oneida Union in February 1889 states the hotel was closed and empty. We don’t know for how long exactly, but Walter Young is the next known proprietor at the turn of the century.
Byron S. Briggs is the next known proprietor, beginning in 1904, how long Briggs continued is also not known.
Henry Burden purchases and remodels the hotel removing some of the more recent alterations. Using finely carved woodwork and moldings, Cazenovia craftsman Dan Sullivan refurbished the entire first floor. His work is still visible today among the high ceiling molding, detailed mantles and painted wood panels.
The hotel was purchased by a group of Cazenovia citizens who were concerned with the future of the historic landmark.
T. Frank Dolan purchases the Lincklaen House
The Lincklaen House is sold to Edward and Helen Tobin. The Tobins update the hotel with modern amenities. Their son Edward Tobin later became owner and proprietor.
Current owners Dan Kuper and Charles Morgan purchase the hotel. Their partnership was formed in the interest of revitalizing this stunning landmark hotel for visitors and local residents alike.